because bibliophiles require refreshment

Monthly archives for September, 2015

Wicked Wild Fantasies by Shilo...

<i>Wicked Wild Fantasies</i> by Shiloh Walker

  Let’s get something out of the way right now: I think sex is a good thing. A great thing, even. It’s also clearly destructive and a host of other things, but it can be restorative and giving when in a trust-based relationship. And let us not forget fun! This book is just north of […]

Her Secret Protector by Roxann...

<i>Her Secret Protector</i> by Roxanne Snopek

  I was poking around NetGalley, as I am wont to do, a few days ago and noticed this book. The cover screamed “contemporary romance! one you might like!” and so I clicked. The description said that Snopek would be great for fans of Susan Mallery and Kristan Higgins (two of my all-time favorite authors) […]

Acute Reactions by Ruby Lang

<i>Acute Reactions</i> by Ruby Lang

  Acute Reactions is a contemporary romance set in the Pacific Northwest (which I’m beginning to think is the law for contemporary romances these days…) about two fairly broken folks who find love. On the surface, it’s that simple. There are no motorcycle gangs here, no MMA fighters, just two professional people with parental baggage […]

Counterfeit Christianity by Ro...

<i>Counterfeit Christianity</i> by Roger E. Olson

  Roger Olson is a seminary professor in Central Texas who is also a prolific writer of books which take complicated theological or historical concepts and write them for use in adult Sunday School classes. I (Kristen) hold a degree from┬áthe seminary where Olson teaches, as well as have used his books in several classes. […]

Rising Strong by Brene Brown

<i>Rising Strong</i> by Brene Brown

  If you’ve read anything Brown has written, seen her TED talk or watched anything she’s done – you do not need me to tell you to buy this book. You’ve already bought this book and probably pre-ordered it. Those of you who have heard of this Brown woman and are skeptical because you’re not┬áreally […]

Waiting for Ethan by Diane Ba...

<i> Waiting for Ethan</i> by Diane Barnes

  Waiting for Ethan is a charming book that I would happily pass on to my mother – who likes her romances fluffy and happy, heavy on romance and light on sex. My only real problem with it is a typical one of debut novels – Barnes ends the book before it is finished. I […]

Wilde at Heart by Tonya Burrow...

<i>Wilde at Heart</i> by Tonya Burrows

I am still dipping my toe into romantic suspense, if I’m honest. I read a few too many while in college that were pants and it put me off the whole sub genre. So as I’m working on building this blog, I decided to make sure to branch out into parts of romancelandia I’m not […]

How Forever Feels by Laura Dre...

<i>How Forever Feels</i> by Laura Drewry

  How Forever Feels is the final piece of her series about a tribe of friends set in Canada. I reviewed the third one over at Romance and Smut a while ago and found it delightful – and I loved this one even more! This book is about second chances and finding yourself and learning […]

Jesus, Pope Francis and a Protesta...

<i>Jesus, Pope Francis and a Protestant Walk Into a Bar</i> by Paul Rock and Bill Tames

  Y’all, I am not going to lie. I requested this from NetGalley without even clicking to find out more info. The title and the cover were enough to draw me completely in. I didn’t know who Paul Rock was (the Senior Pastor of Second Presbyterian in Kansas City, MO), nor did I know that […]

Sounds Like Me by Sara Bareill...

<i>Sounds Like Me</i> by Sara Bareilles

  In the intro to this memoir, Sara Barielles writes that she hopes the essay sound like her (hence the book title). She hopes that we feel at home with her voice, that this is just a conversation between some friends and she’s got the floor for now. As someone who has listened to her […]

Categories