because bibliophiles require refreshment

Posts in category Small Town

Saved by the Firefighter by Ra...

<i>Saved by the Firefighter</i> by Rachel Brimble

Izzy and Trent have known each other for yonks. When Izzy’s beloved brother dies in a tragic accident at the local auto mechanic garage, she needs someone to blame. For her, the most convenient vessel for that grief and anger is her Trent. At it’s core, this is a story about how grief can warp […]

Dirty Work Anthology

<i>Dirty Work</i> Anthology

Amanda Heger, Harper St. George, and Tara Wyatt have teamed up to give us a romance anthology about dudes who work with their hands for a living. Blue collar, working class, call it what you want, but you shall find no billionaires herein. As with every anthology, I resonated with some of the stories more […]

Royal Games by Sariah Wilson

<i>Royal Games</i> by Sariah Wilson

Royal GamesĀ is the latest installment in Wilson’s ‘Royals of Monterra’ series and, y’all, I thought it would be complete trope-nip to me. Royalty? Check, as this one deals with Prince Rafe. Hollywood? Check, as our hero and heroine met on a reality TV program. Small towns? Check, as all the action takes place in the […]

Jingle Bell Harbor by Tracy Br...

<i>Jingle Bell Harbor</i> by Tracy Brogan

Jingle Bell Harbor was a delightful little holiday romance that I’d recommend to anyone who enjoys contemporary stories set in small towns and second-chance romances. It avoids the things that drive me nuts about novellas (no real pacing, limited character development, sex without context) and allowed me to just enjoy getting to know these folks. […]

Keep Me, Cowboy by Nicole Helm

<i>Keep Me, Cowboy</i> by Nicole Helm

This book was fine. And y’all, I hate writing reviews for books that were fine. I read it about three weeks ago, which is an admittedly long lag time between reading and reviewing for me, but it fell completely out of my head. I had to go back to my notes – which is rare […]

Some Girls Do by Amy Andrews

<i>Some Girls Do</i> by Amy Andrews

Some Girls Do is a story of forbidden love and finding home, both in location and in a person. Lacy and Cooper first meet as a hot and satisfying one night stand in a bar in Melbourne. Not having any idea who the other person is, the find out quickly they already had a connection. […]

Broken Open by Lauren Dane

<i>Broken Open</i> by Lauren Dane

  Y’all. Y’ALL. THIS BOOK. I fell so hard for Ezra and Tuesday. It’s a competition to be my favorite Lauren Dane book but this is currently laminated at the top of the list. I started reading this at the beach a few weeks ago and had to stop because I was with people I […]

The Best Kind of Trouble by La...

<i>The Best Kind of Trouble</i> by Lauren Dane

  The Best Kind of TroubleĀ kicks off Dane’s trilogy about the Hurley brothers, their band Sweet Hollow Ranch and their love stories. I fell for these guys hook, line and sinker and ate all these books up one after another. Dane’s heroes are tattooed, pierced, gruff alphas who always find the women who call them […]

Rescue My Heart by Jill Shalvi...

<i>Rescue My Heart</i> by Jill Shalvis

  Rescue My Heart is the third in Shavis’s delightful “Animal Magnetism” series. This one is about Adam and Holly, who have quite the past, full of love and misunderstanding. When Holly’s dad goes missing in the mountains, she enlists Adam’s help and they begin the forced reconciliation. Adam is just freshly back from several […]

Her Secret Protector by Roxann...

<i>Her Secret Protector</i> by Roxanne Snopek

  I was poking around NetGalley, as I am wont to do, a few days ago and noticed this book. The cover screamed “contemporary romance! one you might like!” and so I clicked. The description said that Snopek would be great for fans of Susan Mallery and Kristan Higgins (two of my all-time favorite authors) […]

Categories