because bibliophiles require refreshment

Posts tagged Gin and Tonic

The Legendary Lord by Valerie ...

<i>The Legendary Lord</i> by Valerie Bowman

Before I get going into my general delight of this book, decide for yourself if being historically accurate is important to you. There are some readers who are yanked right out of a historical romance if the idioms or customs are not time-period appropriate and it ruins everything for them. There are others who either […]

Playing the Player by Amy Andr...

<i>Playing the Player</i> by Amy Andrews

I think I may have an Amy Andrews problem. And by that, I mean that I am mildly obsessed with her books. She’s become a complete auto-click for me and I’m hoovering through her back catalogue. Playing the Player is no exception to how her particular book magic works on me. This one, the most recent […]

Dirty Work Anthology

<i>Dirty Work</i> Anthology

Amanda Heger, Harper St. George, and Tara Wyatt have teamed up to give us a romance anthology about dudes who work with their hands for a living. Blue collar, working class, call it what you want, but you shall find no billionaires herein. As with every anthology, I resonated with some of the stories more […]

Driven to Temptation by Melia ...

<i>Driven to Temptation</i> by Melia Alexander

Driven to Temptation is a fun and flirty romance with a lot of heat. It’s a forbidden love (boss-employee) with a touch of enemies-to-lovers (he initially hates her but that doesn’t last long) that would serve as the perfect poolside read this summer. Aiden is the owner of an engineering firm in Central Oregon whose […]

Her Secret Protector by Roxann...

<i>Her Secret Protector</i> by Roxanne Snopek

  I was poking around NetGalley, as I am wont to do, a few days ago and noticed this book. The cover screamed “contemporary romance! one you might like!” and so I clicked. The description said that Snopek would be great for fans of Susan Mallery and Kristan Higgins (two of my all-time favorite authors) […]

Always the Bridesmaid by Linds...

<i>Always the Bridesmaid</i> by Lindsey Kelk

  This comes to B&B from Contributor Niamh who lives in Northern Ireland. Here at B&B, the default reviewer is Kristen, so if anyone else contributes we’ll make sure to let you know! If you’re interested in reviewing anything, drop us a line at beveragesandbooks@gmail.com.  It is a truth universally acknowledged that I am unable to […]

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica...

<i>Luckiest Girl Alive</i> by Jessica Knoll

*Trigger Warnings: sexual violence, physical violence, gun violence* So I picked this one up because no one could seemingly stop talking about it. I heard very little, except that it was funny and twisty and dark in the ways that Gone Girl was. I was in need of a beach read for a weekend down […]

The Square by Rosie Millard

<i>The Square</i> by Rosie Millard

  The Square by Rosie Millard is one of those “slice of life” books in the tradition of Maeve Binchy. While there certainly is a plot, the book is more about the rhythms of life the characters move in. Centered around an upper-middle class housing square around a private garden in London (think the lovely […]

Movie Star by Lizzie Pepper by...

<i>Movie Star by Lizzie Pepper</i> by Hilary Liftin

  Y’ALL. I ate this book up with a big fat spoon. I saw it on a tweet from Curtis Sittenfeld and followed the Amazon link. When I read the description, my mouse trigger finger immediately went to “buy”. Movie Star By Lizzie Pepper is the fictional tale of a Hollywood starlet drawn into a romance […]

Categories