because bibliophiles require refreshment

Posts tagged Small Town

Some Girls Do by Amy Andrews

<i>Some Girls Do</i> by Amy Andrews

Some Girls Do is a story of forbidden love and finding home, both in location and in a person. Lacy and Cooper first meet as a hot and satisfying one night stand in a bar in Melbourne. Not having any idea who the other person is, the find out quickly they already had a connection. […]

The Best Kind of Trouble by La...

<i>The Best Kind of Trouble</i> by Lauren Dane

  The Best Kind of Trouble kicks off Dane’s trilogy about the Hurley brothers, their band Sweet Hollow Ranch and their love stories. I fell for these guys hook, line and sinker and ate all these books up one after another. Dane’s heroes are tattooed, pierced, gruff alphas who always find the women who call them […]

Rescue My Heart by Jill Shalvi...

<i>Rescue My Heart</i> by Jill Shalvis

  Rescue My Heart is the third in Shavis’s delightful “Animal Magnetism” series. This one is about Adam and Holly, who have quite the past, full of love and misunderstanding. When Holly’s dad goes missing in the mountains, she enlists Adam’s help and they begin the forced reconciliation. Adam is just freshly back from several […]

Her Secret Protector by Roxann...

<i>Her Secret Protector</i> by Roxanne Snopek

  I was poking around NetGalley, as I am wont to do, a few days ago and noticed this book. The cover screamed “contemporary romance! one you might like!” and so I clicked. The description said that Snopek would be great for fans of Susan Mallery and Kristan Higgins (two of my all-time favorite authors) […]

Waiting for Ethan by Diane Ba...

<i> Waiting for Ethan</i> by Diane Barnes

  Waiting for Ethan is a charming book that I would happily pass on to my mother – who likes her romances fluffy and happy, heavy on romance and light on sex. My only real problem with it is a typical one of debut novels – Barnes ends the book before it is finished. I […]

A Thrill to Remember by Lori W...

<i>A Thrill to Remember</i> by Lori Wilde

  Just like Touch of Silk, this one is from Wilde’s Harlequin back catalogue. The conclusion of the series that Touch started, Thrill to Remember finds us back in Alaska. The opening takes place at a costume party where our hero and heroine are masked and mysterious. They end up having a super-sexy-super-secret tryst in an abandoned shack […]

The Impossible Knife of Memory...

<i>The Impossible Knife of Memory</i> by Laurie Halse Anderson

  The Impossible Knife of Memory is a whopper of a book. I don’t mean that in terms of length – it’s a fairly standard YA length. I mean it in terms of content. I felt pummeled by this book. Dealing with themes of childhood giving way to adulthood without a stop at adolescence, how to […]

Touch of Silk by Lori Wilde

<i>Touch of Silk</i> by Lori Wilde

  A Touch of Silk, as you can tell by the cover, is a part of Wilde’s Harlequin back catalog. It’s been recently repackaged with the fourth book in the series (this is the first) and that’s how I encountered it. The premise is creative and I enjoyed it with the caveat that I had all […]

What to Do with a Duke by Sall...

<i>What to Do with a Duke</i> by Sally MacKenzie

  Sally MacKenzie is one of those authors I’ve known of for years. I saw her books on shelves, heard them recommended on podcasts, but for whatever reason never picked one up. When I saw What to Do with a Duke up for request on NetGalley I jumped at the chance to get to know this […]

Wildest Dreams by Robyn Carr

<i>Wildest Dreams </i> by Robyn Carr

  Robyn Carr is an author known for gentle romances set in small towns where people who were broken find wholeness. Wildest Dreams, the latest in her series set in Thunder Point, is no exception. Blake and Lin Su are our couple in this one – but other familiar characters play featured roles as well. Carr […]

Categories